ARC Review: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1) by Erin Watt

28678119

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*
Release Date: April 4, 2016

*SYNOPSIS*

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

QUESTIONS ABOUT THE BOOK

Q: Is this really a YA?

We recommend this for young adult readers, age 17 and up. We think it’s a book that will appeal to older teens and those adults who are in touch with their inner teen, like us.

Q: Is there a cliffhanger? I’ve heard there’s an awful cliffhanger! Why’d you write a cliffhanger?

We promise that we didn’t set out to write a cliffhanger, but Paper Princess does end in one. The good news is that the next book will be released July 25, 2016.

*Synopsis from Goodreads.com*

*MY REVIEW*

5+ ‘ROYAL’ STARS!

HOLY. SHIT. GUYS. I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW. Top read of 2016 for sure!

This book contains literally everything I love to read about. Sexy assholes? Check! Love-hate relationship? Check! Full of drama and angst? Check! I mean I knew I had to read this book after the authors described it as ‘a love child of Cruel Intentions and Gossip Girl,’ which are actually two of my favorite things. Did I mention the sexy major asshole brothers? Because it’s no joke. These guys were actually real asshole jerks and I’m not afraid to admit I loved every second of it. Especially Reed Royal, who is one mega asshole extraordinaire and also the leader. I absolutely love reading about a guy that starts off literally hating the heroine when they first meet. And when he has qualities that seem might unredeemable, yet we still know he’s going to end up falling with love with her in the end. It’s just so much fun to watch it all fall together.

Those Royal brothers could be downright brutal, but Ella was one tough heroine. I loved how she would give it right back to the boys. She wasn’t afraid of them, nor did she ever back down from them. She was completely bad ass! Ella never gave up on the brothers; especially Reed. She knew they had a strong connection and that he felt the same no matter what he did.

Paper Princess is considered a YA novel, mainly because the heroine is 17 and the setting is in high school, but it does cross into NA territory because of certain situations and scenarios. The sexual tension between Reed and Ella radiated off the pages. I mean DAMN. Even when they seem like they hate each other, you can still feel the heat between the two of them.

That ending was definitely a jaw dropping moment. I mean WHAT WAS THAT!? And WHY!? I didn’t know what to do with myself after finishing this book. I have had such a major book hangover and I STILL haven’t found another book to recover from it! This book is ridiculously amazing, guys! A definite MUST READ. All I know is I will be stalking the genius authors until I can get my hands on the next book!

Leave a Reply

