Book Review: SPARROW by L.J. Shen

27263454.jpg

Sparrow by L.J. Shen

*BLURB*

Troy Brennan

Every Southie in Boston knows that name. The son of a dead mobster. The heart-throb with steel-blue eyes. “The Fixer” who can make or break you in this city.

Oh, and my new husband.

Sparrow Raynes 

That’s me. No one seemed to remember my name up until he barged into my life.
But then he caged me.
Kidnapped me.
And killed every chance I had to run away from the place where we grew up.
Put simply, Troy Brennan clipped my wings.

I have dreams, big ones, but I doubt he’ll ever let me chase them. I have no idea why he decided to take me as his wife. But I do know this: pissing off this man will not do me any good. At all.

Sparrow is a standalone, full-length novel. It contains graphic violence and adult situations some may find offensive.

*Blurb from Goodreads.com*

~MY REVIEW~

5+++ STARS!

Ahhh! THIS. BOOK.

THIS PERFECT GEM OF A BOOK.

Troy Brennan, OhEmGee, this guy is such a fucking asshole and I LOVED him.

I’ve heard so many good things about this book but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did! I love, love, looooved it. The writing, the storyline, the characters, everything about it was on point. Once I started reading, it was impossible to put down.

Sparrow contained all the elements I love in a book.

Angst? So. Damn. Much.
Slow-burn romance? Check.
Jerk hero? Absofreakinlutely.
Enemies-to-lovers? Hell yes.

I’m also drawn to the whole forced marriage thing in romance stories, especially when the two people involved dislike each other at the beginning. Troy and Sparrow’s relationship was perfectly paced and so very sexy. These two had some crazy hot tension going on. Their story is no insta-love romance, which makes it THAT much more enjoyable to watch unfold. There may have been times I wanted to strangle Troy to death, but hell if that didn’t make me want him even more.

Do read this book if you love jerk heroes, like me. Troy Brennan was exactly the kind of anti-hero I crave. He’s the man you love to hate and hate to love.
Sparrow was a feisty little spit-fire. I loved how she wouldn’t stand for Troy’s bullshit.

I love that the author stayed true to her characters, like Troy being the unapologetic man that he is. It made the story that much more believable and real.

Sparrow is gritty, steamy, angsty, and so damn addictive! I devoured this story in one sitting!

L.J. Shen’s writing is damn good. Her style is BRILLIANT. I look forward to reading more from this author.

Do yourself a favor and read this delicious gem of a book!

Amazon US: http://goo.gl/nOC807
Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/Bk3jP1
Amazon CA:
 https://goo.gl/kJc6ss
Amazon AU: https://goo.gl/AcRJrI

Leave a Reply

