ARC Review: UNBREAK MY HEART by Nicole Jacquelyn

27170149.jpg

Unbreak My Heart by Nicole Jacquelyn

*BLURB*

What do you do when your soul mate marries your best friend?

If you’re Kate Evans, you keep your friend Rachel, bond with her kids, and bury your feelings for her husband. The fact that Shane’s in the military and away for long periods helps-but when tragedy strikes, everything changes.

After Rachel, pregnant with her fourth child, dies in a car accident and the baby miraculously survives, Kate upends her entire life to share parenting duties. Then on the first anniversary of Rachel’s death, Kate and Shane take comfort in each other in a night that they both soon regret.

Shane’s been angry for a year, and now he feels guilty too – for sleeping with his wife’s best friend and liking it . . . liking her. Kate’s ability to read him like a book may have once sent Shane running, but their lives are forever entwined and they are growing closer.

Now with Shane deployed for seven months, Kate is on her own and struggling with being a single parent. Shane is loving and supportive from thousands of miles away, but his homecoming brings a betrayal Kate never saw coming. So Kate’s only choice is to fight for the future she deserves – with or without Shane. . .

~MY REVIEW~

5 STARS!

This Book. THIS. BOOK. This emotional, angst-filled, and completely unputdownable book made me HURT so GOOD.

Unbreak My Heart is one of the heartbreaking, gut-wrenching, and phenomenally written stories I’ve ever read. This book will drain you of every intense emotion it evokes. It will rip you apart, piece by piece, but then slowly put you back together again. I laughed. I cried. I swooned. I got SO incredibly angry at times and wanted to throw my kindle… But ultimately, it ended with a big smile on my face.

I love my asshole heroes in romance novels. I’ve said that plenty of times. But Shane… Shane wins the ultimate prick award if there ever was one, and that’s putting it nicely.

There were times I seriously hated Shane for the way he treated Kate. His cruelness tore me up inside. I don’t think I’ve ever felt more anger towards a hero than I did with him. That man broke my heart, over and over, and over again. His actions were unforgivable and I had no idea how the author could possibly redeem him. It took awhile to get there, but he eventually grew on me and I did up falling for him. That man had me SWOONING. You’ll both love to hate him and hate to love him. Sometimes he’ll make you straight up hate him. But then you’ll just plain love him.

I adored Kate. I hurt for her. I felt her pain. I wanted to pull Shane’s head out of his self-absorbed ass for her. She was such a strong and selfless woman who had sacrificed so much for him, and it killed me to see her being taken advantage of.

Shane and Kate’s journey was anything but easy. As a matter of fact, it’s often ugly at times. It is filled with so much pain and heartbreak, and there are times you’ll wonder how it will ever work between the two, but their story is still one of the most breathtaking love stories I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. The author makes them fight for their happiness, and the outcome of it all is beautiful.

If you’re a fellow angst whore, such as myself, then this is the book for you. In fact, I think this book was made for you. It is pure angst overload at its finest and one that I cannot recommend enough.

This was my first book by this author and it definitely won’t be my last. Unbreak My Heart completely blew me away and ultimately gave me the most all-consuming, unforgettable reading experience ever. It is, undeniably, one of my top favorite reads of the year, if not ever. I have a strong feeling it’s going to be a tough act to follow. This book is a MUST read.

Leave a Reply

